Blood Shadows #guestblogger

Blood Shadows Tour Button 300 x 225Letting Vampires Evolve by Lindsay J. Pryor

Two months ago my first book was published. It’s hard for me to believe that the Blackthorn series, for which I signed a three-book deal, is almost sixteen years in the making.

I didn’t work intently on it all that time. It was more a background project, a secret passion, as I worked full-time whilst managing other writing projects in my spare time – ones I thought might actually get me published one day. That was the thing with Blackthorn – I thought no one would ever get it. I didn’t believe anyone would ever be into my kind of dark, dangerously-close-to-the-edge vampire heroes nor my dystopian world that felt more like a horror than a romance at times.

The series was inspired when I’d left the comfort and safety of my family’s home to take up my first teaching post – moving to a big city over 300 miles away from everything I knew. Walking home one night, I got lost in a very isolated and run-down part of the city. Iron bars were on windows. Metal shutters were on doors. The place was dead. I was terrified, but the idea for Blackthorn was born – dark paranormal stories set in an urban, gritty backdrop of social unrest, where vampires brushed shoulders with humans. I’d have a dystopian world where humans were calling the shots, where there was segregation and prejudice.

Over the years, Blackthorn took on more and more of a life of its own as I developed notebooks full of plotlines, characterisations and background information. I thought I’d get bored, but the ideas and the potential just kept coming. A whole multi-layered world took shape – a world that became vividly tangible to me. What I ended up with was a very clear vision for the series: In an imaginary future, the world is controlled by humans who rule over vampires with an iron fist. Society is divided and ‘third species’ are both feared and discriminated against. Additional seeds of unrest are sown by whispers of a vampire prophecy foretelling the overthrow of the human regime. Blackthorn itself is the most impoverished of several administrative districts – a real melting pot for vampires, lycans and humans – and a subsequent hive of social unrest.

This shady and dystopian location developed into a backdrop for dark and intense romances focusing claustrophobically on the hero and heroine who, incidentally, had no place falling in love with each other – forbidden romances that will not only impact on the fate of humankind, but also on the fate of the ‘third species’ who have spent far too long waiting for their time.

Sixteen years on, finally getting these books into readers’ hands has been immense. My stories aren’t for the faint-hearted, that’s for sure. But for those who aren’t afraid to visit the darker side of paranormal, the first in the series has been met with glowing reviews with Blood Shadows, the first book in the Blackthorn series, already making it into the top 100 Paranormal and Fantasy Romances on Goodreads. That’ll teach me to think no one would ever get it.

 Check it out!

Blood Shadowstimthumb2.php

Blackthorn Series Book One
Lindsay J. Pryor

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Bookouture

ISBN: 9781909490000

ASIN: B00AAMO252

Number of pages: 380

Word Count: 117,000

Cover Artist: Henry Steadman

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/PKxHJfXeqW0

Amazon Apple Kobo

Barnes and Noble Sony ebooks

Book Description:

For vengeance – would you trust a vampire?

For justice – could you betray your family?

For love – are you ready to question everything you believe in?

Gifted with the ability to read the shadows of ‘third species’ beings, Caitlin Parish is the Vampire Control Unit’s most powerful agent. Despite that, her mission to hunt down Kane Malloy – a master vampire – comes with a death wish. Many have tried, but few have survived.

For Caitlin, tracking Kane is about more than just professional reputation. With her parents both mysteriously killed 7 years apart to the day, Caitlin knows that without Kane’s help she is next.

She has four days to make a deal with the wicked, the irresistible, the treacherous Kane Malloy. The vampire who despises everything she stands for.
Or die.
You can read the first three chapters on Scribd for free:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/113060932/Blood-Shadows-FREE-extract

Check Out What Readers Have to Say About Blood Shadows:

“Lindsay J. Pryor easily earns a place alongside Paranormal Romance’s best writers!” ~ Michele Hauf
“An incredible voice for paranormal.” ~ Rhyannon Byrd

“I drooled on my keyboard.”

“Wow! This is just soooo good.”

“Utterly captivating.”

“Flawless, tight, sensual, electrifying!”

“Tell Kane he can have my soul RIGHT NOW!”

“Every moment was dripping with tension.”

“I forgot to blink.”

“Girl, you can WRITE! And you can write sexxxy!”

“Fang-a-licious!”

“I nearly fainted when he removed her belt.”

“The sexual tension is off the charts.”

“After Kenyon’s Zarek, I thought I’d never fall for another bad boy again…”

“Jaw-droppingly good… I’d want to shout ‘Bite Me!’”

timthumb.phpAbout the Author:

Lindsay J. Pryor is a British Paranormal Romance author who writes dark, intense stories set in the dystopian world of Blackthorn.

Her trademark powerful vampire heroes and utterly combustible sensual romances have earned Lindsay comparisons with both J.R Ward and Sherrilyn Kenyon.

A finalist in Mills & Boon’s New Voices competition in both 2010 and 2011, Lindsay has already proved a smash hit with readers.

Comments like “Utterly captivating”, “Jaw-droppingly good”, “Awesome”, “I forgot to blink”, “The sexual tension is off the charts”, “I nearly fainted when he removed her belt”, “I drooled on my keyboard” and even “Tell Kane he can have my soul RIGHT NOW!” convinced Lindsay she just might have what it took to become a published author.

With the launch of Blood Shadows, that dream is now a reality.  Her journey to published author though has been a long one.
Lindsay has been creating stories since she was nine years old, when she quickly decided that fantasy was more interesting than reality. She thought she’d grow out of it but hasn’t yet.

Despite years of bashing out stories on an old typewriter, it was the death of her father in 2007 that finally convinced Lindsay to try and become a published author.

One of the last things my dad said to me was to do what I wanted to do in life. After he passed away, I pulled out all my scribbles from over the years and got back to writing what I loved most – paranormal romance.”

If reviews are anything to go by, it was a journey well worth making.

www.lindsayjpryor.com

www.twitter.com/lindsayjpryor

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lindsay-J-Pryor/198097463659257

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6583988.Lindsay_J_Pryor

http://www.pinterest.com/lindsayjpryor

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Blood Shadows #guestblogger

  1. Pingback: Book Review - 'Forbidden Touch' by K. S. Haigwood ( @KSHaigwood )

Leave a Reply

