Review of “Acquainted with the Night”

A woman’s quest for the truth…A medieval icon that holds the clues…And an ancient book with the power to shake Christianity-and humanity itself.

London tour guide Caroline Clifford has never believe in vampires- until her uncle is brutally murdered at a Bulgarian archaeological site, and a vampire hunter who corresponded with him seeks her out.

Strange anagrams on her uncle’s passport lead them to a cliff-top monastery in Greece, where a shattering revelation connects a relic Caro inherited to an age-old text on immortality-and an enigmatic prophecy that pits the forces of darkness and light in a showdown that could destroy all they know…

 

When I first received Acquainted with the Night, the sheer size of the book intimidated me. It took me over a week to work up my courage enough to attempt to begin reading. It didn’t take me long to get hooked and I finished the thick paperback in just a few days time. I found the entire plot line to be fascinating. I love how the author uses scientific terms to describe the existence of vampires. Her spin on these overdone creatures is refreshing. I especially love how Caro gets up getting hot for sex after being bit.

The sex scenes were pretty arousing and the action was abundant and entertaining. I enjoyed following the relationship of Caro and Jude as they struggled to stay alive and solve the clues Caro’s dead uncle left for her. Piper Maitland did a wonderful job of tying up a lot of the loose ends but I was very disappointed when the story ended. I would have liked to see more about what sort of future Caro and Jude end up having.

 

I’ve conducted this review on behalf of Night Owl Reviews. Come by for free reads, the latest book reviews, author chats and interviews, and contests. Don’t forget to sign up for your free monthly subscription.

Acquainted with the Night paperback

Acquainted with the Night ebook

Piper Maitlandwebsite

 

1 Comment

Filed under authors, books, Night Owl Reviews, Reviewing

One response to “Review of “Acquainted with the Night”

Leave a Reply

