Romancing Christmas

Romancing ChristmasThis is my post for the Romancing Christmas blog hop. It was due up yesterday but as I’m prone to do, I procrastinated and ended up posting late. :/ Yes I know. Waggle your fingers at me. But I would like to blame the error on my internet. I’ve been having so much trouble with it for the last month and up until Monday, I’d done without internet for TWO whole weeks. Gasp. I know, I had withdraws. But, I’m back and I hope it allows me to fulfill all my blog hop obligations. So, without any more rambling…

Christmas Romance Christmas is a time for family. It’s a great time to show a person who much you love them with fancy gifts and expensive jewelry. Perhaps it’s my simple upbringing, but I don’t ask for these types of gifts. My biggest gift is seeing my children have a wonderful holiday. I know a lot of people who use Christmas as the backdrop for proposing marriage. Engagement ringA good friend of ours did it last year. To my tastes, it’s a bit overdone but I applaud anyone who chooses this method. At least they know it’ll be a Christmas they’d never forget.

This year, I had hopes of writing a Christmas romance but I never got around to it. Heck, I couldn’t even get to the plotting stage. All I could think of was that I wanted it to be about Christmas. So, I did the smart thing and continued working on my very first suspense/thriller/mystery. I’d hoped to have it done by December 1st but that didn’t happen so I set a new deadline of January 1st. And I’ve already planned out my resolutions. Trust me, it’s probably pointless. I never accomplish them. Back to romance…I know a lot of generous authors who are offering their holiday stories for a discounted price this Christmas season. Amazon is a great source, and then there’s the publishing houses. Two of my favorites are Decadent Publishing and Ellora’s Cave. They sale the hottest stories around!

~~~

One lucky commenter will win the ebook edition of my new paranormal romance. All you have to do is follow these steps. Forget one, and I may have to disqualify you. I’ll use Random.org to select the winner. 

Merry Christmas

*The Question: What are your thoughts on holiday proposals? Do you think these are sweet and love hearing about them or do you wish the man would get more creative and find a different day to propose? Or something else entirely?

1.) Comment on the question with an answer and add your email into the message.

2.) Follow my blog.

3.) Visit my Fan page, hit like, and post on the wall that you’ve come from this blog!

4.) Stop by my website and sign the guestbook. For anyone who doesn’t win, there’s a special offer on my website. If you browse through and then tell me your thoughts on how the site works, or doesn’t work, you can purchase my book, Heart Over Mind for just $0.99; as well as be enrolled to receive discounts on all future book releases by me.

5.) Sign up for my newsletter.

6.) Have a FANTASTIC holiday! Writer’s orders. 🙂

Don’t forget to check out all the other participating blogs by visiting this link. There’s a ton more prizes up for grabs!

Heart Over Mind excerpt: 18+ OnlyHeart Over Mind

“I love you Nala.”

She looked up at him and knew he meant it.

“And I love you. Will you make me yours now?”

Reaching down, he spread her legs and slipped one finger inside. “God, you’re so wet.”

Nala begin to squirm as he sped up his ministrations. Pressure built as he pleasured her. She tried to stop him but he pushed her hands away.

“Let go.”

She surrendered to the feelings. A scream exploded from her throat as she climaxed. When she came down, she noticed Gabriel looking down at her.

“That was great.”

Gabriel gave her a feral grin. “That’s nothing compared to what’s next.”

He slid into her, letting her adjust before going deeper. He groaned in ecstasy as he moved in and out, gaining speed but holding back so he would not hurt her. Nala gasped and sobbed at the feelings he evoked. She went higher with every thrust and was just about to fall over the edge when Gabriel stopped. Nala followed her instincts and moved her hips, rocking against him.

“Nala, you have to stop.”

She heard the strained words and felt the strength of his hands at her waist, but kept going.

“In a minute.”

She could feel it building. Her breath came in pants as the first ripples started.

“Open your eyes.”

She obeyed his command. Her eyelids felt heavy as she forced them to open against the pleasure. When Gabriel started to glow a pale white, Nala gasped. She looked at her own hands in surprise. She was glowing too.

“Gabriel, what’s happening?”

He smiled. “It’s the mating ritual I told you about. Look over there.”

Nala followed the sound of increasing mumbles. A group of see-through figures hovered over the floor, staring right at them as they spoke in a strange language. They started to move closer. Nala squirmed to get out from underneath Gabriel.

“Let me up. I don’t want anyone seeing us.”

 

Author Bio:Sara Trimble 3 Sara Trimble is new to the world of publishing, though not to writing. She has one published novel, two in the final revisions and a stack of stories ready to work on. She’s also venturing out of her comfort zone of Romance to work on a new suspense novel, she hopes to have done by January 1st. When she isn’t writing, Sara spends her time with her three children, wonderful husband Justyn, spending time with friends, and just enjoying life.

16 Comments

Filed under blog hops, books, contests, giveaways, holidays

16 responses to “Romancing Christmas

  1. 20 years ago, I would have said that Christmas proposals are super romantic, but that was before I opened a jewelry box one Christmas morning, found a diamond solitare ring & said yes. It turned out the jerk wasn’t actually asking the question, he just got a good deal on the ring. Could of fooled me & his parents, who were there at the time. Stupid me, I said yes again, when he finally asked me for real, but the relationship didn’t survive the wedding planning & I ended up telling him no for good.

  2. A holiday proposal would make the holidays more meaningful…very romantic in my book!!

    I am following your blog via email. Wendy Dee is my facebook name where I liked your fan page. In addition I signed your guestbook and signed for your newsletter.

  3. A holiday proposal would make the holidays more meaningful…very romantic in my book!!

    I am following your blog via email. Wendy Dee is my facebook name where I liked your fan page. In addition I signed your guestbook and signed for your newsletter. My holiday WILL be fantastic as we are finally making it home to Wisconsin!!

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  4. Andrea I

    I don’think a Christmas proposal would be good. I think another day would be better.
    ainfinger(at)comcast(dot)net

  5. bakinstuff

    Definitely YES on the Christmas Proposal…I had no idea I would get one because I thought we really couldn’t afford it that year. It was a completely wonderful surprise and I bawled like a baby ❤ Folloed on twitter, signed up for newsletter, facebook and guestbook. And YES i LOVE your blog and site. Can't wait to read more of your work.
    Merry Christmas!!!

  6. Gena Robertson

    Yes, I’m a sucker for a holiday proposal! Not that I got one, but when my husband I got married we were too poor to get rings ( he was in the Army, I was a Nanny, and had only dated for 6 weeks). After being married for 10 years, I opened a small box on that Christmas to find a diamond anniversary wedding band – the first ring (and last, lol) he’s ever bought me. I cried all day long!! Loved it! I can’t imagine what kind of mess I would have been if he’d actually had proposed like that, sheesh 😉
    Thank you so much for participating and for the giveaway op!
    Happy Holidays!
    Gena Robertson
    robertsongena@hotmail.com

  7. Well, the cynic in me says the guy’s gonna spend a lot on a ring, might as well bundle it as a Christmas gift as well…lol. But really, if it’s done properly, it can be very romantic!

    elizabeth@bookattict.com

  8. Many thanks for this amazing giveaway!
    Happy Christmas
    Kate@read2review.com

  9. I don’t like the Christmas proposal. It’s fun to read about, but in real life, it kind of sucks. They can be beautiful and romantic. But let’s get real. That’s a special day, and so is Christmas. We all could need more special days. 🙂

    Thanks for participating in the hop. It’s been a fun stop 🙂
    Happy Holidays!

  10. I honestly think people make too much of a big deal over it. A straight proposal when the person propsoing thinks the time is right. However, I think so much is going on over the holidays perhaps a quieter time would be better so the focus is on the proposal.

    Anne
    acm05atjuno.com

  11. Sarah Bibi Setar

    I think holiday proposals are the sweetest! It shows that the guy’s taken the time to wait and make it special so that the proposal would truly be something to celebrate. I don’t think iut’s too common or unoriginal at all. It’s thoughtful and heartwarming.

    I’ve fulfilled all the required entries for this giveaway:)

    Sarah

    sarahDOTsetarATgmailDOTcom

Leave a Reply

