Interview/Review with Aubrie Dionne

Aubrie DionneToday, I’m welcoming Aubrie Dionne back to my site for her second visit. Today, I’m hosting a review of her book, Paradise 21 and she’s answered some questions to give readers a chance

to learn more about the person behind the name.

I’m not much of a fantasy person but Paradise 21 helped change my mind. This story is placed in

Paradise 21

Paradise 21 by Aubrie Dionne

the future and follows a woman who’s determined to escape an arranged marriage in the sole purpose of procreation. I won’t give away spoilers but this story is an awesome read. I loved the futuristic nature, the passion of the characters, and the unique creatures. If you enjoy sci-fi romance, this is a book I’d suggest you pick up. I’ll be hosting a larger review of this book when I am not so cramped for time, due to internet malfunctions and a 72 hour virus.

Now, for the interview questions:

Paradise 21 tour banner
1.) What is the highlight of your career?So far, my book signing at Barnes and Noble was definitely a highlight. All of my family and friends came, and I felt like I was living my dream. Getting my agent was another highlight. Finally, I felt like I wasn’t alone. (Even though I have supportive family members and critique partners.) The third highlight is all the five stars reviews I’ve been getting from readers! I’m so excited (and relieved) that so many people like Paradise 21.

2.) How did you come up with your story?I watched a lot of Star Wars and Star Trek growing up, so that definitely inspired me to write science fiction. I also worry about the end of the world (I’m such a worry wart), and what people will do when our resources run out. Paradise 21 is about a colony ship finding a new home and how that impacts individuality and the freedom of choice.

3.) How did you get into writing?I’ve written my entire life. My first poem was about a unicorn in grade school. I started writing seriously about six years ago when I wanted to read a certain blending of genres that I couldn’t find anywhere in the bookstore.

4.) What’s one thing you can’t live without?The internet! I use it for everything: to do research for my writing, to communicate with my agent, to keep up with my blog and Twitter, and to correspond with my writing partners! Just a few weeks ago we lost the internet during that Nor’easter in New England, and I was without internet for several hours. I felt so lost!

5.) What does it take to get your writing mojo to working?Watching an exciting movie usually sparks my imagination. Also, talking about the possibilities in my book with my agent or my editor.

6.) How long does it take to get a book finished?My first book took me way too long: Two and a half years! Now I can finish a book in six to seven months.

7.) Do you create an outline and write scene to scene or fly by the seat of your pants and write whatever scenes comes to you that day?I write in chapter order, but I don’t always have an outline, just a general idea of where I want to go. That way the story evolves naturally.

8.) What’s one thing about your characters that your readers don’t know?That they are all a part of me! Even the bad ones! At first I found that thought horrifying, but now I’m comes to terms with it. They have to come from somewhere, right? And if I draw on my own inner hopes, dreams, and fears, I think I can make them more real.

9.) What’s up next for you?I’ve currently working on the third book in the series, Haven 6. The second book, Tundra 37 comes out in January (for all of you who liked Paradise 21). Tundra 37 is about a matchmaker on a colony ship. Their pairing system is destroyed right after she finds herself matched to the handsome lieutenant and presses delete. This book has it all: cyber women, alien mammoths, laser battles, tragic love, everything! I think I like it even more than Paradise 21.

10.) What’s your biggest distraction when you write?The internet! I keep checking my email thinking there is someone I need to get back to!

11.) What’s in your TBR pile?The sequel to the Hunger Games: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I loved the first book and can’t wait to see the movie version.

12.) What made you choose the genre you write for?I’ve always been drawn to science fiction and fantasy my whole life. I grew up watching Star Wars, Star Trek, The Last Unicorn, The Goonies, The Princess Bride, all sci fi fantasy movies. So, of course, that’s what came out when I started to write.

Thank you so much for having me on your blog today!

This book tour is hosted by Coffee Beans and Love Scenes. Coffee Beans and Love Scenes

2 Comments

Filed under authors, blog hops, cbls, guest blogging, interviews, Reviewing

2 responses to “Interview/Review with Aubrie Dionne

  1. When I was a kid, I was the only one in the family who liked Sci-Fi stuff. I could only watch Star Trek if no one else was home. Did you get your love of sci-fi from anyone in your family or were you a lone sci-fi geek too?

    drainbamaged.gyzmo at gmail.com

  2. Thanks for hosting me, Sarah!

    To answer Kathryn’s question: My mom loved the old star Trek series. Her favorite character was Spock. I guess I inherited it from her!

Leave a Reply

