Guest Post with Caridad Pineiro

Today, I’m being visited by one of my favorite authors, Caridad Pineiro. I’ve loved her books since I started reading the Nocturne series. I hope everyone enjoys reading her post.

~~~

People always wonder about how you get ideas for a book and there isn’t really any kind of

Lost by Caridad Pineiro

Lost by Caridad Pineiro

answer. Sometimes I’m writing one book and a character starts screaming in my ear that they have a story to tell.

For example, I was busy writing a book several years ago and this character – a very push hard-edged female – kept intruding on the novel that was due. She was really insistent and I could not get her out of my mind. Before I knew it, I had set aside the other story to deal with her. Before I knew it, FBI Agent Diana Reyes was born and within just a week, I had the start of the book that would become DARKNESS CALLS.

Something similar happened when I started to write MORE THAN A MISSION. MISSION was part of a series for Harlequin and so I had the basic premise for the story, but I suddenly found myself creating an entire history for the heroine and her town. The location in particular really added lots of flavor to the story because the small town in which the story was set was very old and had lots of unusual traditions. That really helped to make the story special and to this date MISSION is one of my favorites.

In THE LOST, the main characters, Adam and Bobbie, were as demanding as Diana Reyes, especially Bobbie. I knew she was emotionally and physically wounded, but strong. I wanted a story that would really help show that strength and inspire others somehow. But I knew it was going to be a paranormal story and I had to think of paranormal elements which would help highlight both her wounds and her strength.

Since Bobbie had already been at war and did not want to go there again, it seemed that forcing her to endure another battle for something that was really important to her – namely Adam – was the way to show her growth and how she tapped her inner strength to overcome her emotional wounds.

But I also wanted to heal her physical wounds and after having lots of ideas rattling around in my head, the idea of a race of people who could either heal or kill with a touch came to me. Building on that, I slowly developed the mythology of the Hunters and shaped the world in THE LOST.

So if you’re a writer and wondering where inspiration will come from, the best answer is that it comes from all kinds of different places for all your different stories. There is no wrong or right way and sometimes the ideas come in the most unusual ways, but that’s okay. Each story and character will speak to you and help you find the best way to tell their story!

~~~

Connect with Caridad at her website.

Check out her Facebook page.

2 Comments

Filed under blog, guest blogging

2 responses to “Guest Post with Caridad Pineiro

  1. Thank you so much for having me with you! I really appreciate it.

  2. I’ve always wondered how an author got ideas. Thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

