Back to Writing

It seems like it’s been forever since I’ve allowed my creative side to be exposed. Yes, I have written stuff. Just about every day in fact. However, it’s not the kind of stuff I’m used to writing. I’m a novelist. At least, I guess that’s what I would categorize myself as. I love to write long pieces. I just finished my third book, “A Woman’s Revenge”, and I have set it aside so that it can age before I begin the exhausting process of revising. I could start a new novel, but what’s the point? What reason is there to keep writing all these novels if I never get them ready to be submitted for considerable publishing.

So, as much as it pains me, I’m now revising “Heart Over Mind” for what seems like the hundredth time. As I read it, I worry if it is good enough to publish. What if people don’t enjoy it like I do? And what really gets my self-doubt into high gear is worrying that the scenes in my story aren’t worth keeping. How do you know when to destroy something or keep it? Not every scene should have to be action packed, life threatening or make you so horny you’re searching for extra batteries because your husband won’t be home for another three hours.

I know that I can write good stories. I’ve been told this often enough. But will publicists feel the same? I won’t give up, if that’s what you’re thinking. I love what I do too much to let a little, okay a lot of negative thoughts break me down. That being said, I have decided to go back to writing short stories and flash fiction. There seems to be a huge market for these and I think it’s just what I need for a variety of reasons. One, it lets me do what I love. Two, it takes less time to finish one piece. Three, I can write and submit more. Four, it builds up my portfolio. And five, should I win any contests, I’ll have that to boast about when I write my query letters for my novels.

I hope this new path will help take away some of the restlessness I’ve been feeling lately. I’ll still be doing my usual stuff. Reading and reviewing for Night Owl Reviews, writing my monthly column complete with author interview, and I’d like to expand into having guest bloggers and maybe even blogging with some friends soon. I have a dozen other things I’d like to do as well, but that’s all in the future. Right now, I need to focus on one thing at a time. Well, two. Revising, and writing.

Wish me luck everyone! And be warned. I might ask for some folks to suffer enough to read through the first drafts of my work and give me feedback. Your payment? My unwavering appreciation and recognition should they get published. Even if it’s just on Facebook, Twitter and here on my blog. Hey, it’s better than nothing.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

One response to “Back to Writing

  1. Pingback: Writing for the future. | dwwriter

Leave a Reply

